2011 Council

On the 14th of Feburary 2011, Manly Council voted 6 : 5 to spot rezone the Little Manly Foreshore from Open space to Residential. 

This is the time when your opinion about the environment and public amenity can do something. Let it be known to the Councillors and General Manager in regards to their move to sell off the Little Manly Foreshore.

The Councillors who voted in support of the motion to change the land from Open space to Residential were:

Jean Hay (Lib) – Mayor                     jean.hay@manly.nsw.gov.au Tel: 9976 1501

Alan Le Surf (Lib)                            alan.lesurf@manly.nsw.gov.au Tel: 0421 694 035

Lauren Elder (Lib)                          lauren.elder@manly.nsw.gov.au Tel: 9976 1500

Adele Heasman (Lib)                      adele.heasman@manly.nsw.gov.au Tel: 9948 1901

Richard Morrison (Lib)                  richard.morrison@manly.nsw.gov.au Tel: 0422522627

Mark Norek (Ind)                            mark.norek@manly.nsw.gov.au Tel: 0407285860

The Councillor who abstained for this vote:

Cathy Griffin (Grn)                        cathy.griffin@manly.nsw.gov.au Tel: 0414719513.

The Councillors who voted against the motion.

Craig Whitting (Lab)                     craig.whitting@manly.nsw.gov.au Tel: 0439 690 077

David Murphy (Lib)                       david.murphy@manly.nsw.gov.auTel: 0418673114

Barbara Aird (MInd)                       barbera.aird@manly.nsw.gov.au Tel: 9976 1500

Peter MacDonald (MInd)              peter.mcdonald@manly.nsw.gov.au Tel: 0438381098

Hugh Burns (MInd)                       Tel: (02) 9976 1500

You can let the whole council know your position by responding to records@manly.nsw.gov.au

The General Manager: Henry Wong:

records@manly.nsw.gov.au Tel: 9976 1500

On the 17th of October 2011. A decison was taken to rescind the motion above it was carried as follows below.

Councillors who voted for the Rescission:

Barbara Aird (MInd)

Peter MacDonald (MInd)

Richard Morrison (Lib)

David Murphy (Lib)

Craig Whitting (Lab)

Mark Norek (Ind)

The Councillors who abstained for this vote:

Cathy Griffin (Grn)

Hugh Burns (MInd)

The Councillors who voted against the motion

Jean Hay (Lib) – Mayor

Alan Le Surf (Lib)

Lauren Elder (Lib)

Adele Heasman (Lib)

Council Minutes – 2011 February 14th

2 thoughts on “2011 Council

  1. I have not been to a council meeting for many years, but after reading about the Mayor’s Pre Christmas minute whereby the foreshore area of Little Manly was rezoned to residential, I felt I must attend. It was an incredible experience. The Mayor appeared to be constantly out of control and making up the rules as she went along. ‘I won’t allow a point of order now’, was a frequently repeated phrase. Some people spoke for two minutes and some for eight. I had expected more professionalism from a politician of Ms Hays’ experience. I resented the way she spoke to members of the public. Yes there was one noisy member of the public in the gallery who interupted constantly. Of course, that was not acceptable, but there are rules to deal with that. Imagine if teachers in our schools punished all of the students in the class for one disruptive student.

    I truly believe that there has been a miscarriage of justice here. It is unbelievable that we have lost this invaluable piece of foreshore. It would not have happened if there was sufficient PUBLIC CONSULTATION. As the speakers at Manly Council proved, this action is NOT in the best interests of the current and future residents of Manly.

    I only hope with the declaration of the owner of 40 Stuart Street, to refuse to sell any part of his land thereby providing access to the beach, that there is some avenue to rescind this motion.

    I would like to commend Ms Barbara Aird and Ms Candy Bingham on their calm, professional and informed approach.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s